Time Person Of The Year 2014 Winner


Person of the Year (formerly Man of the Year) is an annual issue of the United States news magazine Time that features and profiles a person, group, idea or object that “for better or for worse…has done the most to influence the events of the year”.

The tradition of selecting a “Man of the Year” began in 1927, with Time editors contemplating news makers of the year. The idea was also an attempt to remedy the editorial embarrassment earlier that year of not having aviator Charles Lindbergh on its cover following his historic trans-Atlantic flight. By the end of the year, it was decided that a cover story featuring Lindbergh as the Man of the Year would serve both purposes.

Time Person Of The Year 2014 Nominees Name List

As On 06 December 2014

14.9% Narendra Modi
9.5% Ferguson Protestors
7.1% Joshua Wong
5% Malala Yousafzai
4.5% Ebola Doctors and Nurses
4.4% Vladimir Putin
3.5% Laverne Cox
2.7% Joko Widodo
2.6% Pope Francis
2.6% Chibok Girls
2.2% Barack Obama
2.1% Beyoncé
2% Jennifer Lawrence
1.8% Angela Merkel
1.8% Taylor Swift
1.6% Elon Musk
1.6% John Oliver
1.5% Tim Cook
1.4% Elizabeth Warren
1.4% Pete Frates and Pat Quinn
1.2% Hillary Clinton
1.2% Shonda Rhimes
1.2% Xi Jinping
1.2% Christopher Nolan
1.2% Jack Ma
1.1% Bashar al-Assad
1.1% Tom Frieden
1% Dilma Rousseff
1% Recep Tayyip Erdogan
1% Reed Hastings
1% Janet Yellen
1% Jeff Bezos
1% Kim Kardashian
1% Kanye West
0.9% Hassan Rouhani
0.9% Benjamin Netanyahu
0.9% John Kerry
0.8% Rand Paul
0.8% Abdel Fattah el-Sisi
0.7% Thomas Piketty
0.7% Ayatollah Ali Khamenei
0.7% Mary Barra
0.7% Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi
0.6% Travis Kalanick
0.6% Rick Perry
0.5% Ted Cruz
0.4% Harvey Levin
0.4% Charles and David Koch
0.4% Mitch McConnell
0.3% Roger Goodell

Narendra Modi was leading the poll with 14.9 % followed by Ferguson protesters 09.5% and Hong Kong leader Joshua Wong (7.4% votes).

PM Narendra Modi could not find a place in Time magazine‘s annual “Person of the Year ‘in the list of last eight contender name list.

The finalists for the annual honour are: Alibaba group head Jack Ma, Ebola caregivers, Russian President Vladimir Putin, Apple CEO Tim Cook, Fergusan protesters, singer Taylor Swift, National Football League commissioner Roger Stokoe Goodell and Masoud Barzani — the Kurdish politician who has led the Iraqi-Kurdistan region since 2005.

Hong Kong protest leader Joshua Wong, Nobel Peace Prize-winner Malala Yousafzai and the doctors and nurses treating Ebola rounded out the top five.

Narendra Modi is the 15th and current Prime Minister of India, in office since May 2014. He is a leader of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), previously served as the Chief Minister of Gujarat state from 2001 to 2014. He is currently the Member of Parliament (MP) from Varanasi.

Narendra Modi was sworn in as Prime Minister on 26 May 2014 at the Rastrapati Bhavan. He is India’s first prime minister born after the country’s independence.

Ferguson Protestors The fatal shooting of Michael Brown, an unarmed black teenager, by a white police officer in Ferguson, Mo; would have remained a local tragedy were it not for the throrongs of people who took to the streets, stoking a national debate about race, representation and policing.

Time Person Of The Year 2013– Last year 2013 Time Person Of The Year winner was Pope Francis. He is the reigning pope of the Catholic Church, in which capacity he is both Bishop of Rome and absolute sovereign of the Vatican City State.

Mahatma Gandhi named as Mohan Das Karamchand Gandhi the father of nation of India was winner of Person Of The Year in 1930 year.